How many Districts in Kerala?

Kerala state is home to 14 districts. They are separated based on geographic, historical, and cultural affinities. These 14 districts are further broken down into 21 divisions of revenue. 14 District Panchayats, 63 Taluks with 152 CD blocks. 1466 revenue villages and 999 Gram panchayats. Five corporations, and 60 municipalities.

Certain districts and towns were named in 1990. These included Thiruvananthapuram (named Trivandrum), Kollam (Quilon), Alappuzha (Alleppey), Thrissur (Trichur or Thirushivaperur), Palakkad (Palghat), Kozhikode (Calicut), and Kannur (Cannanore). The districts are divided into three divisions of the regional region, which are part of the Kerala historic Kingdoms that comprised of Kochi, Travancore, and British Province of Malabar.

Districts in Kerala

Kerala is an Indian state located in the southern part of India. In 2022, there were 14 districts in Kerala.

DistrictsDistrict HeadquartersSubdivisions (Taluks)Area
Alappuzha DistrictAlappuzhaAmbalapuzha, Chengannur, Cherthala, Karthikappally, Kuttanad, Mavelikkara1,414 km2
Ernakulam DistrictKakkanadAluva, Kanayannur, Kochi, Kothamangalam, Kunnathunad, Muvattupuzha, Paravur2,951 km2
Idukki DistrictPainavuDevikulam, Peerumade, Thodupuzha, Udumbanchola4,479 km2
Kannur DistrictKannurKannur, Thalassery, Thalipparamba2,966 km2
Kasaragod DistrictKasaragodKasaragod, Hosdurg1,992 km2
Kollam DistrictKollamKarunagappally, Kollam, Kottarakkara, Kunnathur, Pathanapuram2,498 km2
Kottayam DistrictKottayamChanganasserry, Kanjirappally, Kottayam, Meenachil, Vaikom2,203 km2
Kozhikode DistrictKozhikodeKoyilandy, Kozhikode, Vadakara2,345 km2
Malappuram DistrictMalappuramEranad, Nilambur, Perinthalmanna, Ponnani, Tirur, Tirurangadi3,550 km2
Palakkad DistrictPalakkadAlathur, Chittur, Mannarkkad, Ottappalam, Palakkad4,480 km2
Pathanamthitta DistrictPathanamthittaAdoor, Kozhencherry, Mallappally, Ranni, Thiruvalla2,462 km2
Thiruvananthapuram DistrictThiruvananthapuramChirayinkeezhu, Nedumangad, Neyyattinkara, Thiruvananthapuram2,192 km2
Thrissur DistrictThrissurChavakkad, Kodungallur, Mukundapuram, Thalapilly, Thrissur3,032 km2
Wayanad DistrictKalpettaMananthavady, Sultan Battery, Vythiri2,131 km2

Some Facts about Kerala Districts

Except for Wayanad District and Ernakulam District, all districts located in Kerala share the same name as the most important city or town within the district.

  • Kannur district, which is located in Kerala, is the second biggest district in Kerala and the most urbanized of districts within Kerala.
  • Pallakad District is the largest district in the state, while Alappuzha is the smallest district of the state.
  • Mallapuram is the most populous district of Kerala.
  • Largest and Smallest District of Kerala by Area.

Palakkad district, which covers 4482 sq km, is the biggest district of Kerala. Alappuzha District can be described as the smaller district in Kerala covering an area of 1415 square kilometers.

# By AreaDistrictArea
LargestPalakkad4482 kmĀ²
Smallest Alappuzha 1415 km2

The largest and smallest district in Kerala population

Malappuram District has the district with the highest population in Kerala. The population as of 2011. 41.13 Lakhs Wayanad District, which has an estimated population of 8.17 Lakhs is the least in Kerala.

# by PopulationDistrictPopulation (Census 2011)
Most PopulatedMalappuram4112920

The highest and lowest Population Density

Thrissur District (1508 people per square kilometer) is the district with the highest population densities in Kerala. Idukki District with a population density of 255 residents per square kilometer is the lowest densities district of Kerala.

# by DensityDistrictDensity (person/km)

Leave a Comment